TMI laxmen win sportsmanship award

The varsity lacrosse team of TMI – The Episcopal School of Texas was presented with the 2012 Patterson Award at the Texas High School Lacrosse League championships, held May 6 at Eastview High School in Georgetown.

“Each year, members of the Southwest Lacrosse Officials Association (SLOA) select a team to honor with the Patterson Award,” said Don Carnes, chief referee. “Named in honor of Bob Patterson, a pioneer in lacrosse officiating and a mentor to many of us, the award honors the team we think best shows the virtues that are important to us – they play the game the right way.”

Officials vote for teams on the criteria of sportsmanship, respect for the game, competitive focus and quality of play. According to guidelines for the award, “The qualifying team is the high school program we wish all other teams in the state would model themselves after, in the manner that the players are taught to play and appreciate the game.”

The traveling trophy for the award was presented by Patterson to TMI Head Coach Nathan Torok. “It’s a really big honor for our league, and it is really great that our boys earned this award,” said Head Coach Nathan Torok, who received the award on behalf of the team.