Five TMI seniors named National Merit semifinalists

Five seniors at TMI – The Episcopal School of Texas have been named semifinalists in the annual National Merit Scholarship competition. They are: Megan Abbott, Douglas Carter, William Frost, Alex Hager and Hamilton Rogers.

Recognized for high scores on the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, they are among fewer than one percent of high-school seniors nationwide who will continue in the competition for 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth a total of more than $34 million.

“TMI is very proud to count five National Merit semifinalists among the 63 members of the class of 2012 ,” said Upper School Division Head Bob Ridewood.

To advance, semifinalists must maintain an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be recommended by their head of school and earn SAT scores that confirm their earlier performance on the qualifying test. Those who become finalists will be notified in February, and scholarship winners will be selected from that group, to be announced next spring.