TMI announces new Alkek and Frost scholars

4/22/2018–Two new recipients of the Albert B. and Margaret M. Alkek Scholarships and a new Frost Scholar were introduced to the students and faculty of TMI Episcopal on April 17 during daily chapel.

The Rev. Scott J. Brown, TMI Headmaster, introduced new Alkek Scholars Jake Kilbride and Anaya Zachery and Frost Scholar Rachel McCafferty as “outstanding newcomers to the TMI community.” Kilbride, an eighth grader at Mount Sacred Heart School; and Zachery, an eighth grader at Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran School, were chosen through an annual competition for two four-year, full-tuition scholarships awarded since 1996 by the Houston-based Alkek Foundation. Frost Scholar Rachel McCafferty is an eighth grader at Garcia Middle School. All three will enter TMI next fall as freshmen. The merit scholarships recognize students who have strong academic backgrounds as well as great leadership potential.

Alkek Scholars Kilbride and Zachery are members of the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS); she is president of her school’s chapter, and he is chaplain of his. Kilbride completed the University of Texas at San Antonio’s Pre-Freshman Engineering Program (PREP), plays first-chair trumpet in his school band and won a Director’s Award in Medicine and Health at the 2017 Alamo Regional Science and Engineering Fair. He has run cross-country and track and played baseball and basketball. Zachery is president of Student Council, is a member of the Drama Club and is involved in starting a school garden with the Mayor’s Fitness Council. She has run cross-country for her school, played basketball on a community team and participated in a summer swim team.

Frost Scholar McCafferty also is a member of NJHS, was chosen to serve as captain of her school’s Science Bowl regionals team, is clarinet section leader of the Honor Band and has earned top places as a swimmer in the South Texas Age Group championship meets.

After the ceremony, the new Alkek Scholars and their families had the opportunity to meet all the current Alkek Scholars, representing their respective class years.

Alkek Scholars are expected to embody the core values of TMI by maintaining a high academic average, being involved in athletics and other extracurricular activities, modeling the highest character and integrity and exercising positive leadership inside and outside of the classroom. The Tom C. Frost Merit Award is given to a new student with an impressive academic and extracurricular record who embodies the mission of TMI.
For information about TMI admission and scholarships, contact Director of Admission Aaron Hawkins at or (210) 564-6152.

Leave a Reply