TMI awards merit scholarships

TMI – The Episcopal School of Texas has awarded nearly $70,000 in merit scholarships for the 2013-2014 school year to returning students in Middle and Upper School. Funds for the named awards were donated by alumni, former parents and other friends of the school, including a former headmaster and former bishop of the Diocese of West Texas.

“TMI has been blessed with so many donors who make it possible for students to continue their education here,” said Alex Hernandez, director of financial aid and merit scholarships. “It’s wonderful that they have thought of TMI for their gifts that go on benefiting generations of students.”

The school’s merit scholarships recognize students for academic achievement, leadership and community involvement. Awards are determined by a committee including representatives of the Four Pillars of a TMI education: Academics, Athletics, Military and Spirituality.

This year’s recipients are: Lincoln Abbott, Alan G. Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarship Fund; Alec Bassett, J. David Oppenheimer; Nelson Black, Ewing-Halsell Foundation Scholarship; Philip Blair, D. Ormsby Charitable Foundation Scholarship; Kendall Bohne, Ralph A. Nichols Memorial Scholarship; Naomi Chalk, Helen and Everett H. Jones Scholarship; Steven Constantin, Nichols; Jessica Corley, Nichols; James Fox, William W. Davis Jr. ’69 Memorial Scholarship; Morgan Garbett, Jones; Markell Henderson, Jones; Brianna Hernandez, Nichols; Elizabeth Holmes, Ormsby; Emily Limmer, Caroline Kampmann Memorial Scholarship; Gerardo Martinez, Scott Andrew Nall TMI Memorial Scholarship; Juan Martinez, Lt. Gen. William H. Schneider Memorial; Sarah McCafferty, Kampmann; Jonathon Medina, A. Oppenheimer; Joshua Meza, T.M. Wilson and Ben M. Franks Charitable Trust Scholarship; Austin Miller, Schneider; Eduardo Orozco, J. David Oppenheimer ’67 Scholarship; Moramay Orquin, Halsell; Jessica Overmeyer, Jones; Christopher Perez, Howell Family Scholarship; Natalie Ribble, Ormsby; Steele Sessions, Howell; Benjamin Smith, A. Oppenheimer; William Sowell, J.D. Oppenheimer; Ana Paula Velasco, Schneider; JuliaGrace Walker, Schneider; and Grace Westerman, Ormsby.

Previously this year, TMI announced two new recipients of the Alkek Scholarships – two four-year, full-tuition awards for rising ninth-graders – and later this spring, the school will announce a new recipient of the Robert B. Taylor ’39 Scholarship, a four-year award for a rising ninth grader.

For more information about merit scholarships and financial aid at TMI, visit and click on Admission.