TMI graduates named National Merit Scholars

Two graduates of TMI – The Episcopal School of Texas have received awards through the National Merit Scholarship program.

Luke Matus and Spencer Romo, both 2011 graduates, were named National Merit Scholars. Matus, who will attend McGill University in Montreal, Canada, received a scholarship sponsored by USAA; and Romo, who will attend Washington University in St. Louis, received a scholarship sponsored by the university.

Matus and Romo were among the highest-scoring students to take the 2009 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and as semifinalists were required to submit applications demonstrating their leadership in school and community activities to qualify as finalists. About half of each year’s finalists are chosen to receive National Merit Scholarships.

At TMI, Matus was a member of the National Honor Society and the National Spanish Honor Society, earned varsity letters in football and track, received the Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award for achievement in Humanities and Social Sciences and served as chairman of a school group that makes and serves dinner to Ronald McDonald House residents.

Romo also has been named a National Hispanic Scholar. He was a member of TMI’s National Honor Society, a student council representative, a founding member of TMI’s Upbeats a cappella group, served as a mentor to an elementary-school student in the school’s Priceless People program and earned varsity letters in basketball, football and lacrosse.

Based in Evanston, Ill., the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) is a nonprofit organization established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC and by business organizations and institutions of higher education.