Outstanding Alumnus of the Year Awards

Steven K. Howell ’67 (1986 award)

Vice Chairman, TMI Board of Trustees and of the 1982-83 Annual Fund; family donated 60 acres of land for the present campus; lives in Houston, now executive director of Battleship Texas Foundation to keep the USS Texas battleship at San Jacinto Battleground.

Edgar Albrecht ’22 (1985 award)

Deceased, 1989; rancher, insurance broker and civic leader, Goliad, Texas.

Jerome K. Harris Jr. ’49 (1984 award)

Alamo Heights businessman (clothing shops), active in Rotary and Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, many civic and charitable board memberships, Texas Cavaliers, German Club, Temple Beth-El. With fellow Alumnus of the Year Marshall Steves, Harris was one of the original promoters of HemisFair ’68. Later, partner in Cody-Harris Photography.

Porter Loring Jr. ’47 (1981 award)

Then president, Porter Loring Mortuary; served on TMI board as well as the boards of many other local civic and charitable organizations; now chairman of the board of Porter Loring Mortuaries.

John B. Armstrong ’37 (1979 award)

Rancher (King Ranch); deceased; donor (in 1981) of the Armstrong Chapel built into Old Main at the Alamo Heights campus. Wife Anne, a Republican Party fundraiser, died in 2008. Daughter Katharine is former Texas Parks and Wildlife commissioner, now director of Images for Conservation Fund.

Gen. Ralph E. Haines Jr. ’30 (1978 award)

A longtime supporter of TMI, GEN Haines was a guest speaker at the 2009 Military Ball; has made several other visits to speak at TMI, especially at the Alamo Heights campus.

Robert M. Ayres ’44 (1977 award)

Former TMI board chairman; former president of the University of South (Sewanee), very active Episcopal lay leader; and children are TMI alumni.

Henry Catto ’48 (1975 award)

Insurance executive, former Ambassador to El Salvador and U.S. Chief of Protocol.

Tom C. Frost Jr. ’45 (1974 award)

First to receive Alumnus of the Year award.
Chairman of the TMI Board/Frost Bank Chairman