2017-2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

1967 championship basketball and golf teams

The 1967 championship basketball and golf teams will be inducted at the 2017 Homecoming Luncheon.

Canon A. Nelson Daunt, TMI headmaster from 1976 to 1987

In Spirituality, the late Rev. Canon A. Nelson Daunt will receive a posthumous Distinguished Servant Leader award, to be accepted by his granddaughter Lesley Netting-Reichert, a member of the class of 1987. Daunt served as TMI headmaster from 1976 to 1987. Before coming to TMI, he had served schools and parishes in Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota and South Carolina. As TMI headmaster, he led plans to move from Alamo Heights to the current Alkek Campus in northwest San Antonio and broke ground on the site in 1985. After retirement from TMI in 1987, he served as rector of St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church in Bandera. After his death in 1992, TMI established the Daunt Lecture Series on theology to honor his memory.

John Lombardo ’92

John Lombardo ’92 was a three-sport athlete at TMI, earning 10 varsity letters in baseball, football and track and serving as captain of both the baseball and football teams. He set school records in baseball and earned district honors in both baseball and football. At Trinity University, he was captain of the baseball team and received conference and regional honors. Lombardo earned a master’s in sports administration from Ohio University and went on to work for the Texas Rangers in player development. He is now a professional scout for the Boston Red Sox and was named Scout of the Year in 2013. He will be inducted at the 2017 Hall of Fame luncheon.

Joseph Murguia ’89

Joseph Murguia ’89 is an assistant principal at Tom C. Clark High School in the Northside Independent School District, where he works with more than 2,800 students to prepare for post-secondary settings. He has 18 years of experience as a behavior consultant, campus administrator, counselor and classroom teacher. Recently, he was elected to an honorary life membership by the Texas Congress of Parents and Teachers. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of the Incarnate Word, as master’s in counseling from the University of Texas at San Antonio and a master’s in education from Trinity University. He will be inducted at the 2017 Homecoming Luncheon.

Mario Rivela, Spanish and Latin teacher (1967-2000)

Mario Rivela, a former TMI Spanish and Latin teacher (1967-2000) will receive a Distinguished Servant Leader award in Academics. Besides teaching, he coached soccer, was a dorm parent and drove the bus for soccer games and other student travel. The TMI chapter of the National Spanish Honor Society is named in his honor.

Seven championship soccer teams from 1974-1995

The seven championship soccer teams coached by Mario Rivela – nominated for a Distinguished Servant Leader Award – between 1974 through 1995 will be inducted at the 2017 Homecoming Luncheon.

TMI Hall of Fame
Established in 2015, the TMI Hall of Fame is an honorary society recognizing the exceptional contributions of outstanding alumni, with Distinguished Servant Leader awards for former faculty, staff and friends of the school. Inductees are recognized for exemplifying one or more of the TMI Core Values: Wisdom, Integrity, Service, Excellence and Reverence.

Nominees must have

  • Graduated from or left TMI at least five years prior to nomination.
  • Demonstrated excellence in award-related skills and accomplishments, including recognition by athletic conference and/or other external bodies
  • Demonstrated sportsmanship (Athletics), integrity, courage and character
  • Demonstrated achievement as a member of the TMI community and after
  • Teachers, administrators and coaches must be no longer active at TMI
  • Former students who did not graduate from TMI are eligible.
  • Friends of the school whose contributions have had a major impact on programs at TMI may be considered.

Presentation of Awards
Inductees are honored at Homecoming. If their schedules require, they may be inducted at another TMI event during the school year.

Honorees’ names are inscribed on Hall of Fame plaques displayed in Ayres Hall and Frost Athletic Center.