TMI seniors named Commended Students

Nine seniors at TMI – The Episcopal School of Texas have been named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship competition. They are: Lincoln Abbott, LeSean Brown, Christopher Clark, Lauren Devlin, Samantha Hobbs, Sarah Klem, Sofia Miranda-Fred, Aiden Read and Umer Salman.

They were recognized during daily chapel Sept. 22 in TMI’s All Saints Chapel, where they were presented with letters of commendation from the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

These academically talented students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million who took the 2914 Preliminary SAT-National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, earning among the 34,000 highest scores.

Based in Evanston, Ill., the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) is a nonprofit organization established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC and by business organizations and institutions of higher education.