TMI athletes earn state, district honors

Junior and senior athletes from TMI – The Episcopal School of Texas have been recognized by the TAPPS (Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools) conference with state and district honors for fall sports.

In football, DeAndre Wilson and Zachary Trevino were awarded Academic All State recognition. To qualify for this honor, students must earn a cumulative grade point average of at least 90 or 3.5 and be named to first or second All District teams. Wilson was named to the first team as an offensive receiver and second team as defensive secondary, while Trevino made the second team as an offensive back and offensive back. Chris Lopez, defensive linebacker, also was named to the first team; and as offensive lineman, to the second team. Other TMI football players named to the honorable mention team were GW Bodden, quarterback; Aaron Cornelius, defensive secondary and offensive receiver; Brendan McLaughlin, offensive kicker; and Billy Sanders, defensive and offensive lineman.

In volleyball, Elise Notzon, Danielle Ridewood and Alexis Roberts were named Academic All State. Ridewood, along with Jaqueline McCullick, made the first All District team; and Notzon and Roberts made the second team.

In cross-country, Saad Ehsan, Ashley Kim, Sarah Klem, Garrett Lindemood and Will Sowell all earned Academic All State honors. To qualify, runners were required to place in the Top 15 at the state meet.

All Academic All State athletes receive a certificate. TAPPS recognizes an Academic All State team in every sport.